Award Speakers

2014 Honorary Awards

AMWA is honored to present its two highest awards to distinguished leaders who have made outstanding contributions to the field of medical communication. We look forward to their award lectures at the 2014 AMWA Annual Conference, October 8-11, in Memphis, TN.
Alvarez Award Recipient: Rosemary Gibson, MSc 

 Alvarez Award recipient, Rosemary Gibson, MSc, is the Senior Advisor to The Hastings Center and Section Editor for the Less is More series in JAMA Internal Medicine. Rosemary has dedicated her career to giving voice to patients and the public interest in critical health care issues in the United States in recent decades. Her work has improved the quality of life for untold numbers of people at the end of life and their families and improved the safety of care that Americans receive throughout the course of life.

McGovern Award Recipient: Gary Schwitzer 
 McGovern Award recipient, Gary Schwitzer is the Publisher of, and Adjunct Associate Professor at the University Of Minnesota School Of Public Health. Gary Schwitzer has a 40-year career in health care journalism, working in all media, including print, radio, television, interactive multimedia, and the Internet. But his pride and joy has been his latest project—the only health care news watchdog service of its kind in the United States.