John P. McGovern Award

The award is presented in honor of John P. McGovern to a member or nonmember of AMWA to recognize a preeminent contribution to any of the various modes of medical communication.

The recipient is selected by the
AMWA President and Immediate Past-President in consultation with the AMWA Executive Committee.
The John P. McGovernAward is presented at the Annual Conference.

2015 Recipient
Ivan Oransky, MD
Vice president and global editorial director of MedPage Today
Co-founder of Retraction Watch

2014 Recipient

Gary Schwitzer
Adjunct Associate Professor at the University Of Minnesota School Of Public Health 

2013 Recipient
Cynthia Baur, PhD
Senior Advisor for Health Literacy, Office of the Associate Director for Communication, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), US Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)

2012 Recipient
Neal Baer, MD
Television Writer and Producer

2011 Recipient
Francince Ratner Kaufman, MD
Chief Medical Officer and Vice President
Global Medical, Clinical and Health Affairs, Medtronic Diabetes
Northridge, CA
2010 Recipient
Thomas P. Stossel, MD
Director of the Division of Translational Medicine, Brigham and Women's Hospital,
Founder, Association of Clinical Researchers and Educators
Boston, MA
2009 Recipient
Annette Flanagin, RN, MA
Managing Deputy Editor, Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA)l,
Director, Editoral Operations, Jama and Archives Journals,
Congress Coordinator, International Congress on Peer Review and Biomedical Publication,
Coathor and Committee Member, AMA Manual of Style,
Chicago, IL
2008 Recipient
Kerri S. Remmel, MD, PhD
Interim Chair, Department of Neurology; Associate Professor in Neurology,
Director of the University of Louisville Stroke Center,
Louisville, KY
2007 Recipient
Julie L. Gerberding, MD, MPH
Director, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention,
Atlanta, GA
2006 Recipient
A. John Rush Jr, MD
Vice Chair, Department of Clinical Sciences,
Professor of Psychiatry, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center,
Dallas, TX
2005 Recipient

Danielle Ofri, MD, PhD
Editor-in-Chief, Bellvue Literary Review,
Assistant Professor of Medicine, NYU School of Medicine-Bellvue Hospital,
New York, NY
Past Recipients
Cheryl Iverson (2004)
Jerome Groopman, MD (2003)
Sherwin B. Nuland, MD, FACS (2002)
Richard I. Cook, MD (2001)
Andrew Skolnick (2000)
Alfred G. Knudson, Jr., MD, PhD (1999)
Arthur L. Caplan, PhD (1998)
Anthony S. Fauci, MD (1997)
Marilyn W. Edmunds, PhD (1996)
Susan J. Blumenthal, MD (1995)
John K. Iglehart (1994)
Ernlé W.D. Young, PhD (1993)
Stephen A. Brunton, MD (1992)
Bruce B. Dan, MD (1991)
Charles Bazerman, PhD (1990)
T. Barry Brazelton, MD (1989)
Baruch S. Blumberg, MD (1988)
George D. Lundberg, MD (1987)
Malcolm S. Watts, MD (1986)
Robert S. Eliot, MD (1985)