AMWA chapters provide local educational events and regional networking opportunities.  


Membership in a regional chapter is included in your AMWA membership. New members can select a chapter during the join process. Current members can select or change chapters in their user profile.


Please contact your AMWA chapter leader or visit the chapter website to learn more about activities in your area. If you are interested in volunteering for your chapter, please complete the AMWA volunteer interest form.


In addition to chapters, local networking coordinators help organize events and activities for medical communicators to network and connect.  Learn more about local networking.


Chapter Leader Resource Center 

Carolinas Chapter

North Carolina and South Carolina
President, Jill Moffett, MPH, PhD

President-Elect, Lydia Morris, PhD

Secretary, Simone Otto, PhD

Treasurer, Paula Davis-Searles, PhD

Delaware Valley Chapter
Pennsylvania (eastern), Delaware, and New Jersey (southern)
President, Mark Bowlby, PhD
President-Elect, Katherine Molnar-Kimber, PhD
Secretary, Monica Nicosia, PhD
Treasurer, Robert Hand, MD

Empire State-Metro New York Chapter
New York, Northern New Jersey (northern), and Connecticut (southern)
President, Qing Zhou, PhD

President-Elect, Marjorie Winters
Secretary, Jennifer Nepo, MS
Treasurer, Lloyd Zimmerman, MD

Florida Chapter

President, Reggie Wilson, MS
President-Elect, Jingle Thomas, MSc

Secretary, Paul Fletcher, PhD
Treasurer,  Paul Fletcher, PhD

Greater Chicago Area Chapter
Illinois and Wisconsin (southern)
President, Carrie Lauer, MS
President-Elect, Mia DeFino, MS
Secretary, Jim Monti, PhD
Treasurer, Aneysha Bhat, BS

Indiana Chapter

President, Tenille Lawson, PharmD
President-Elect, Leslie Hodge, PharmD
Secretary, Denise Viquez, MBA
Treasurer, Nicoletta Bivi, PhD

Mid-America Chapter
Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, and Nebraska 
President, Rebecca Bigelow, PhD
President-Elect, Natalie DeWitt, PhD

Secretary, Raessa Gupte, PhD
Treasurer, Leslie Neistadt

Mid-Atlantic Chapter
Maryland, Virginia, Washington, DC, and West Virginia (eastern) 
President, Vita Washington, MA

President-Elect, Judith Orvos
Secretary, Rebecca Nelson, MA
Treasurer, Colleen Walacavage, MS

New England Chapter

Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Connecticut (northern)
President, Brian Head, PhD 
President-Elect, Haifa Kassis, MD
Secretary, Ellie Lin, MS
Treasurer, Ana Bozas, PhD

North Central Chapter
Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wisconsin (northern)
President, Lisa Poppenberg, MPH
President-Elect, Jillienne Touchette, PhD
Secretary, Amelia Young
Treasurer, Ellen O'Malley, MS

Northern California Chapter
California (northern), Nevada, and Hawaii
President, Sandra Ruhl, RN
President-Elect, Andrea Johnson
Secretary, Barbara Arnoldussen, PhD
Treasurer, Rose Tomey, BA

Ohio Valley Chapter
Kentucky, Ohio, Pennsylvania (western), and West Virginia (western)
President, Brandi Talkington, PhD

President-Elect, Keri Jolly, MA

Secretary,  Madeline Gober, PhD
Treasurer, Debbie Sommerville


Rocky Mountain Chapter 

Colorado, Utah, and Wyoming 
President,  Kathi Whitman, MA
President-Elect, Erik MacLaren, PhD
Secretary,  Tamara Golden, PhD
Treasurer,  Lisa Carricaburu, MBA

Southeast Chapter
Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, and Tennessee 
President, JoAnna Pendergrass, DVM

President-Elect, Madison Hedrick, MA
Secretary, Rachel Stevens, PhD

Treasurer, Callie Compton, MA

Southwest Chapter
Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, New Mexico, and Texas 
President, Kimberly Mankiewicz, PhD

President-Elect, Kelly Byram, MS, MBA
Secretary, Erica Goodoff
Treasurer, Erica Goodoff

Contact Us

American Medical Writers Association
30 West Gude Drive, Suite 525
Rockville, MD 20850-4347

phone:  240. 238. 0940
fax:        301. 294. 9006

About Us
Contact AMWA Staff
© 2019 AMWA / Policies