Past Awards

Eric W. Martin Award

The Eric W. Martin Award was named for AMWA Past President Eric Martin, who was also the author of the AMWA Code of Ethics. The award honors excellence in medical writing for articles written by AMWA members.

2015 Recipients
Kathryn Faguy, ELS
Seth Mnookin

2014 Recipients
Art Gertel
Randi Redmond Oster

2013 Recipients
Jane Buchwald
Eleanor Mayfield, ELS

2012 Recipients
Joshua Tompkins

2011 Recipients
Penny Allen
Bart Harvey, MD
Tom Lang
Denny Smith

2010 Recipients
Kirsten Dorans
Bridget Murray Law

2009 Recipients
Laura Hale Brockway
Patricia McAdams

2008 Recipients
Richard Laliberte
Marie Rosenthal

2007 Recipients
Lonnie Christiansen, ELS
Debra Bradley Ruder
Diane Shannon
Flo Witte, ELS


AMWA Medical Book Award

The medical book awards promoted and honored publications on medical and health care topics.


2011 Recipients

Complete Guide to Nutrition for Cancer Survivors

Barbara L. Grant, RD, CSO; Abby S. Bloch, PhD, RD; Kathryn K. Hamilton, RD, CSO; and Cynthia A. Thomson, PhD, RD


Practical Plans for Difficult Conversations in Medicine: Strategies That Work in Breaking Bad News

Robert Buckman, MD, PhD


Pharmacy Management, Leadership, Marketing, and Finance

Marie A. Chisholm-Burns, PharmD, MPH; Allison M. Vaillancourt, PhD, SPHR; and Marv Shepherd, PhD, RPh


2010 Recipients

Demystifying Psychiatry

Eugene H Rubin, MD, PhD and Charles F Zorumski, MD


Intimate Partner Violence: A Health-Based Perspective

Connie Mitchell, MD and Deirdre Anglin, MD


Fighting Cancer with Knowledge and Hope

Richard C Frank, MD


2009 Recipients

Cure Unknown: Inside the Lyme Epidemic

Pamela Weintraub


War Surgery in Afghanistan and Iraq: A Series of Cases, 2003-2007

LTC Shawn Christian Nessen, DO, US Army; Dave Edmond Lounsbury, MD, COL, US Army (Ret.); and Stephen P. Hetz, MD, COL, US Army (Ret.)


The Woman Who Walked into the Sea; Huntington’s and the Making of a Genetic Disease

Alice Wexler


2008 Recipients

Vaccinated: One Man’s Quest to Defeat the World’s Deadliest Diseases

Paul A. Offit, MD


Manic Depressive Illness, Second Edition

Frederick K. Goodwin, MD and Kay Redfield Jamison, PhD


Pharmacotherapy Principles and Practice

Marie A. Chisholm-Burns, PharmD; Barbara G. Wells, PharmD; Terry L. Schwinghammer, PharmD;  Patrick M. Malone, PharmD;  Jill M. Kolesar, PharmD;  John C. Rotschafer, Pharm D; and Joseph T. Dipiro, PharmD


2007 Recipients

Mayo Clinic Cardiology: Concise Textbook, 3rd Edition

Joseph G. Murphy, MD, and Margaret A. Lloyd, MD


Unplugged: Reclaiming Our Right to Die in America

William H. Colby


2006 Recipients

An Introduction to Clinical Emergency Medicine

S.V. Mahadevan, MD and Gus Garmel, MD


Phlebotomy Handbook: Blood Collection Essentials

Diana Garza, EdD, MT and Kathleen Becan-McBride, EdD, MT


Living With Lymphoma

Elizabeth M. Adler, PhD


2005 Recipients

A Practical Guide to Joint & Soft Tissue Injection & Aspiration

James W. McNabb, MD


Premier 2005 Edition Nursing Spectrum Drug Handbook

Patricia Dwyer Schull, RN, MSN


What Are Old People For?

William H. Thomas, MD


2004 Recipients

The Bedford Murder: An Evidence-Based Clinical Mystery

Marshal Godwin, MD and Geoffrey Hodgetts, MD


S.T.A.B.L.E. – Cardiac Module

Kristine A. Karlsen, MSN, RNC, NNP and Lloyd Y. Tani, MD


The X in Sex

David Bainbridge


For information on medical book award winners prior to 2004, please contact



Contact Us

American Medical Writers Association
30 West Gude Drive, Suite 525
Rockville, MD 20850-4347

phone:  240. 238. 0940
fax:        301. 294. 9006

About Us
Contact AMWA Staff
© 2020 AMWA / Policies