AMWA chapters provide local educational events and regional networking opportunities.  


Membership in a regional chapter may be available with your AMWA membership.


Please contact your AMWA chapter leader or visit the chapter website to learn more about activities in your area.   If you are interested in volunteering for your chapter, please complete the AMWA volunteer interest form.


In addition to chapters, local networking coordinators help organize events and activities for medical communicators to network and connect.  Learn more about local networking.


Chapter Leader Resources 

Carolinas Chapter

North Carolina and South Carolina
President, September Mihaly, PhD

President-Elect, Jill Moffett, MPH, PhD

Secretary, Paula Davis-Searles, PhD
Treasurer,  Lydia Morris

Delaware Valley Chapter
Pennsylvania (eastern), Delaware, and New Jersey (southern)
President, Jennifer Minarcik
President-Elect, Darryl L'Heureux
Secretary, Kavita Gumbrir-Shah, PhD
Treasurer, Mark Bowlby, PhD

Empire State-Metro New York Chapter
New York, Northern New Jersey (northern), and Connecticut (southern)
President, Qing Zhou, PhD

President-Elect, Marjorie Winters
Secretary, Jennifer Nepo, MS
Treasurer, Lloyd Zimmerman, MD

Florida Chapter

President, Irvin Peralta, MBA
President-Elect, Shara Pantry, PhD

Secretary, Krisha Brister
Treasurer, Maryalice Ditzler

Greater Chicago Area Chapter
Illinois and Wisconsin (southern)
President, Sarah Prins, PhD
President-Elect, Stephanie Vargas, MD
Secretary, Stephanie Vargas, MD
Treasurer, Adriana Caballero, PhD

Indiana Chapter

President, David Caldwell, PhD
President-Elect, Terry Farley, MS
Secretary, Angela Beeler, CRA
Treasurer, Nicoletta Bivi, PhD

Mid-America Chapter
Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, and Nebraska 
President, Laura Long, MA
President-Elect, Rebecca Bigelow, PhD
Secretary, Linda A. Landon, PhD 
Treasurer, Leslie Neistadt

Mid-Atlantic Chapter
Maryland, Virginia, Washington, DC, and West Virginia (eastern) 
President, Erin Boyle
President-Elect, Vita Washington
Secretary, Michael Jones, MS
Treasurer, Martin Spiering, MS, PhD

New England Chapter

Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Connecticut (northern)
President, Shawn Watson, PharmD, PhD
President-Elect, Debbie Ferguson, PhD
Secretary, Ellie Lin, MS
Treasurer, Ana Bozas, PhD

North Central Chapter
Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wisconsin (northern)
President, Kendra Hyland, PhD
President-Elect, Lisa Poppenberg, MPH
Co-Secretary, Lynelle Martinez, MBA
Co-Secretary, Amelia Young
Treasurer, Ellen O'Malley, MS

Northern California Chapter
California (northern), Nevada, and Hawaii
President, Nancy Katz, PhD, MWC 
President-Elect, Sandra Ruhl, RN
Secretary, Barbara Arnoldussen, PhD
Treasurer, Catherine Magill, PhD

Ohio Valley Chapter
Kentucky, Ohio, Pennsylvania (western), and West Virginia (western)
President, Sarah Dobney
President-Elect, Ryan Fell, PharmD
Secretary, Tanya Smith
Treasurer, Debbie Sommerville


Rocky Mountain Chapter 

Colorado, Utah, and Wyoming 
President,  Erik Maclaren, PhD
President-Elect, Brittany Hodges, PhD
Secretary,  Tamara Golden, PhD
Treasurer,  Lisa Carricaburu, MBA

Southeast Chapter
Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, and Tennessee 
President, Eva Stabenow, MA, ATA
President-Elect, Rebekah Koutny, RN
Secretary, JoAnna Pendergrass, DVM
Treasurer, Callie Compton, MA

Southwest Chapter
Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, New Mexico, and Texas 
President,  R. Michelle Sauer Gehring, PhD
President-Elect,  Susan Daniels, PhD
Secretary, Erica Goodoff
Treasurer, Erica Goodoff

Contact Us

American Medical Writers Association
30 West Gude Drive, Suite 525
Rockville, MD 20850-4347

phone:  240. 238. 0940
fax:        301. 294. 9006

About Us
Contact AMWA Staff
© 2018 AMWA / Policies